naismith awards
Naismith Awards on Twitter Naismith Awards on Facebook
naismith awards
naismith awards
naismith awards
naismith awards
naismit hawards

Trey Burke Becomes First University of Michigan Player to Win Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T

Trey Burke led the University of Michigan to its first NCAA Final Four appearance since the “Fab Five” accomplished the feat back-to-back 20 years ago.  He has now achieved what no member of that famous quintet ever did.

ATLANTA (April 7, 2013) – Trey Burke led the University of Michigan to its first NCAA Final Four appearance since the “Fab Five” accomplished the feat back-to-back 20 years ago.  He has now achieved what no member of that famous quintet ever did.  Earlier tonight, The Atlanta Tipoff Club named Burke winner of the 2013 Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T as the men’s college basketball player of the year, solidifying the sophomore point guard’s place in school history as the first Wolverine ever to receive the prestigious award.  

He becomes the fifth player in Big Ten history to claim the award, following Ohio State’s Evan Turner (2010), Purdue’s Glenn Robinson (1994), and Indiana’s Calbert Cheaney (1993) and Scott May (1976). Burke was honored at the AT&T National Association of Basketball Coaches’ Guardians of the Game Awards Show at the Georgia World Congress Center in Atlanta. Other finalists for the 2013 award included Creighton junior Doug McDermott, Indiana junior Victor Oladipo and Georgetown sophomore Otto Porter, Jr.

Burke adds to his impressive list of conference awards this season, including the 2013 Big Ten Player of the Year and first-team All-Big Ten honors. The sophomore point guard finished 2012-13 Big Ten conference play as the leader in points scored and assists per game and was the only player to score 15 points or more in all 18 conference games.

Burke surpassed the University of Michigan’s single season assist record holder, Darius Morris, on Saturday, March 23 during his team’s second round win over Virginia Commonwealth University in the 2013 NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament.   He has the Wolverines on the verge of a national championship as they square off against Louisville on Monday night.

“Trey had one of those magical seasons where his individual production yielded tremendous results, and his team achieved remarkable success in getting to the Final Four,” said Eric Oberman, Atlanta Tipoff Club Executive Director.  “He is a wonderful ambassador for college basketball and a worthy winner of the Naismith Trophy.”

Said Michigan coach John Beilein, “Trey is a selfless player who works hard to make his teammates better every day. He has provided tremendous leadership all season long and has played at an extremely high level every game.  Trey is a joy to coach and we are fortunate to have him as a floor leader. Trey is a great ambassador for the University of Michigan and will represent the Naismith Trophy with great pride.”

Burke was chosen by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s national voting academy, which based its selection on individual performances throughout the 2013 men’s college basketball season, and by fans, who were eligible to vote via a mobile phone voting program from March 25 through April 6. For the ninth year, fans have contributed to the selection of the Naismith Men’s College Player of the Year Trophy presented by AT&T.  The fan vote accounts for 25 percent of the vote totals.

“We congratulate and thank all of this year’s nominees, especially trophy recipient Trey Burke for his leadership, sportsmanship and memorable performances,” said David Christopher, chief marketing officer, AT&T Mobility.  “We are honored to welcome Trey into this elite group of athletes and thank the fans for their active participation in this close race.”

Other notable Naismith Trophy alumni include a pair of three-time winners in Bill Walton (1972, ‘73, ‘74) and Ralph Sampson (1981, ‘82, ‘83), Michael Jordan (1984), Kevin Durant (2007) and last year’s winner, Anthony Davis of Kentucky. The Naismith Men’s College Player of the Year Trophy presented by AT&T is the most prestigious national award presented annually to college basketball’s best player. 

For more information, visit 

The Atlanta Tipoff Club, an Atlanta Sports Council property, is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club, founded during the 1956-57 season, has presented the Naismith Trophy every year since UCLA’s Lew Alcindor first won the award in 1969.  Old Dominion’s Anne Donovan won the inaugural Women’s Naismith Trophy in 1983.  

The Naismith Trophy has become the most prestigious award in all of college basketball, recognizing the Men’s and Women’s College Basketball Player of the Year, Men’s and Women’s College Basketball Coach of the Year, as well as awards for outstanding achievement in high school basketball, officiating, and contribution to the game. 

AT&T Inc. (NYSE:T) is a premier communications holding company and one of the most honored companies in the world. Its subsidiaries and affiliates – AT&T operating companies – are the providers of AT&T services in the United States and internationally. With a powerful array of network resources that includes the nation’s largest 4G network, AT&T is a leading provider of wireless, Wi-Fi, high speed Internet, voice and cloud-based services. A leader in mobile Internet, AT&T also offers the best wireless coverage worldwide of any U.S. carrier, offering the most wireless phones that work in the most countries.  It also offers advanced TV services under the AT&T U-verse® and AT&T │DIRECTV brands. The company’s suite of IP-based business communications services is one of the most advanced in the world.

Additional information about AT&T Inc. and the products and services provided by AT&T subsidiaries and affiliates is available at or follow our news on Twitter at @ATT, on Facebook at and YouTube at

© 2013 AT&T Intellectual Property. All rights reserved. 4G not available everywhere. AT&T, the AT&T logo and all other marks contained herein are trademarks of AT&T Intellectual Property and/or AT&T affiliated companies. All other marks contained herein are the property of their respective owners.


nasimith awards
naismit hawards

Eric Oberman

Atlanta Tipoff Club
(404) 586-8506

naismith awards